DMV Dashpass Learn More About Dash Pass Learn More About Dash Pass

Duplicate Driver License or ID

Ordering Options

If your driver license, instruction permit, or ID card is lost, destroyed or becomes difficult to read, you may order a duplicate online, at a DMV kiosk or in person at a DMV full service office. You may visit any DMV office or kiosk within the state regardless of your city or county of residence. You may order by mail if you are outside of the state. See Fees for fee information.

You will be asked for personal information such as your date of birth and social security number to verify your identity.

Nevada uses a central issuance licensing system. You will be given a paper interim document and your permanent license or ID will be mailed to you.

Online

You may order a duplicate of a non-commercial license, driver authorization card, instruction permit or ID card online. You will receive a new card in the mail with your existing photo.

Some restrictions apply:

Online Duplicate License, DAC or ID Card

The issue date on your latest license or ID card is required to set up a MyDMV account. If you do not have the issue date or an existing MyDMV account, you may click "No Thanks, Just Continue" to complete the request or use another option.

Kiosk

Kiosk

Ordering at a DMV kiosk is fast and easy. Kiosks are located at larger DMV offices and many supermarkets and other private locations throughout the Las Vegas and Reno areas. See Kiosk Services. Kiosk orders carry an additional $1 processing fee.

Some restrictions apply:

In Person

You must order in person at a DMV office if you have a commercial license or have one of the restrictions listed above. The Department will use your existing photograph to help verify your identity.

Out-of-State

Nevada residents out-of-state may obtain a duplicate by submitting an Application for Nevada Driver License By Mail (DMV 204). Some duplicates issued by mail may not have your photo. You are required to surrender this "valid without photo" document for a photo license within 24 days of returning to Nevada. Mail duplicates will be a standard Nevada license or ID card unless you have already met Real ID requirements.

Real ID or Standard License - The Choice is Yours  New!

Nevada is now issuing licenses that comply with the federal Real ID Act of 2005.

If you currently have a standard license and you order your duplicate online, at a kiosk, or by mail, your new license or ID will be marked "NOT FOR OFFICIAL FEDERAL USE." See The Real ID Act in Nevada for more information.

If you wish to obtain a Real ID license or ID card, you must visit a DMV office and submit proof of identity and address.

Real ID License

Real ID Driver License

A Real ID compliant license is marked with gold circle containing a star. A Real ID will be required for those who wish to use a driver's license or state ID to board aircraft (beginning no sooner than 2016). See Real ID Enforcement in Brief for details and other instances where a Real ID is required.

To obtain a Real ID license or ID card, you must show proof of identity and residential address one time at the DMV. Most license holders submitted proof of identity in the past. You must show the documents again to obtain a Real ID.

Standard License

Standard Nevada License

A standard Nevada license or ID card is marked "NOT FOR OFFICIAL FEDERAL USE" and will not be valid for boarding aircraft or other uses outlined in Real ID Enforcement in Brief.

You do not have to present any documentation other than your existing license for renewal. You may use the Internet, kiosk or mail options below if you are eligible to do so.

Homeless and Released Prisoner Fee Exemptions

Homeless

The Department is authorized to waive the fee for homeless persons to obtain a duplicate Nevada driver's license or identification card. This is a one-time exemption for duplicates only. You must apply for this in person at a DMV office and complete the declaration form.

You may be required to reimburse the $3.25 photo fee to the Department at the time of your next regular renewal if you are employed at the time of the renewal.

The fee exemption does not apply to:

Released Prisoners

The Department is authorized to waive the $17.25 duplicate fee for persons who have been released from prison within the past 90 days. You must supply official documentation of your release date from the Nevada Department of Corrections or its counterpart in another state.

This is a one-time exemption for duplicates only. You must apply for this in person at a DMV office, complete the request form and provide documentation of your release date.

You may be required to reimburse the $3.25 photo fee to the Department at the time of your next regular renewal if you are employed at the time of the renewal.

The fee exemption does not apply to: