Convicted sex offenders and persons convicted of a crime against a child are required to renew their driver's license or identification card every year. Applicants must be in compliance with offender registration requirements before a license or ID will be issued or renewed.
The DMV and the Nevada Department of Public Safety have a program that searches all non-commercial and commercial driver's licenses and ID cards to determine if the applicant is a registered sex offender within the State system.
The search takes place automatically upon the original issuance and each renewal of a license. If the offender is in compliance with registration requirements, the license or ID card will be valid until the applicant's birthday one year ahead. There is no other notation on the license.
If the individual is not in compliance, the DMV will not issue or renew the license. The DMV will refer the applicant to the Sex Offender Registry at (775) 684-6262. An existing license or ID will expire on its normal expiration date.
Nevada residents who move must change their address with the DMV within 30 days of the move, even if they are moving out of state. The DMV does not receive updated address information from the Registry or from postal forwarding orders. See Address Changes.
Each year, the applicant will receive a mailed renewal notice. The notices are mailed approximately 45 days in advance for ID cards and non-commercial licenses and 90 days in advance for commercial licenses. Renewals must be completed in-person at a DMV office. Offender licenses cannot be renewed by Internet or mail.
When you renew, you have a choice between a license or ID that complies with the federal Real ID Act of 2005 or a standard Nevada license.
A Real ID license/ID will be required in the future for federal purposes such as boarding aircraft and is marked with a gold circle and star cut-out. A standard license is marked "NOT FOR OFFICIAL FEDERAL PURPOSES."
To obtain a compliant license, you must show proof of identity, social security number and residential address one time at the DMV. You are not required to show documents at each renewal.