IMMEDIATE RELEASE December 28, 2006
NEWS FROM: Field Services Division 06-011
Nevada state law now requires beginning drivers under the age of 18 in Pahrump to complete a 30-hour driver education course in order to obtain their full driverís license.
The change comes as a driving school has been established in the Pahrump area. ďA Affordable Driving SchoolĒ is now conducting classes at Pahrump Valley High School. Nevada Revised Statutes state that a 30-hour course is required if one is offered within a 30-mile radius of the beginning driverís residence.
Students have the choice of the classes offered at the high school, courses offered on the Internet or even courses taught in other Nevada cities such as Las Vegas. A private school must be licensed by the Nevada DMV to be accepted.
The driver education requirement also means that the requirement for behind-the-wheel experience has been reduced from 100 hours to 50 hours. Beginning drivers must log the dates and times of 50 hours of experience on the official Beginning Driver Experience Log, form DLD-130.
A list of licensed schools and all of the teen driver requirements are available on the DMVís web site at www.dmvnv.com/teens.
-- 30 --