|FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE||June 30, 2009|
|NEWS FROM: Directors Office||09-010|
Changes on July 1 at the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles include fees for driver testing, fewer tests for new residents and new requirements for diesel emissions inspections. The DMV will also begin taking complaints against auto repair garages.
The department’s field offices will begin charging $25 for the initial tests for motorists applying for an instruction permit and driver license. The initial fee will cover both written and drive tests for any combination of license classes or endorsements that are paid for at the same time. Retesting after any failure will be $10 per test. Tests required for medical reasons are exempt. Those who hold an instruction permit issued prior to July 1 will not be charged for their drive test. There is no charge for vision tests.
“The Legislature passed this change to encourage motorists to study for the tests and to cut costs by reducing the number of tests given,” said DMV Director Edgar J. Roberts. Roberts noted the failure rate on first-time written tests was nearly 54 percent in 2008. The drive test failure rate was close to 30 percent.
Assembly Bill 25 also includes provisions to further reduce the number of tests. Currently, all new residents under age 25 must take a written test when applying for a Nevada license regardless of their driving history. This will be reduced to age 21, eliminating 5,000 tests per year. Testing requirements for drivers with poor driving records remain unchanged.
The DMV will also be requiring emissions inspections on heavier diesel vehicles in Clark and Washoe counties beginning July 1. Diesel vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating up to 14,000 pounds will now be required to have an annual emissions test prior to registration. The previous cutoff was 10,000 pounds. This change affects approximately 9,500 vehicles. Other requirements, such as vehicle age, remain the same.
The department will begin investigating complaints against auto repair garages after the Legislature transferred these duties from the Consumer Affairs Division. The DMV will handle complaints in the same manner as complaints filed against other licensees such as auto dealers. Motorists may submit complaints to the DMV Compliance Enforcement Division. Visit www.dmvnv.com/ced for the complaint form and contact information.
|Summary of All DMV Changes Effective July 1, 2009|
|Assembly Bill 25||Implement $25 initial test fee and $10 retest fee for non-commercial license tests
Reduce new resident testing requirement from below age 25 to below age 21
|Assembly Bill 407||Hikes reinstatement fees for revoked or suspended licenses
DUI reinstatement fee from $65 to $120
Reinstatement following other offenses from $40 to $75
|Assembly Bill 414||Raise cutoff weight for diesel emissions inspections from 10,000 pounds Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) to 14,000|
|Assembly Bill 372||Commercial motor vehicles 10,001 pounds GVWR and higher that are not registered in Nevada must obtain a temporary trip permit before entering the state. Previously, vehicles vehicle could travel to the nearest available vendor and vehicles up to 26,000 pounds were exempt|
|Assembly Bill 482
Assembly Bill 561
|Transfer auto repair garage complaints to DMV from Consumer Affairs Division
To file a complaint:
www.dmvnv.com/ced | Complaint Form DS-232
(775) 684-4690 - Carson City
(775) 753-1175 - Elko
(702) 486-8626 - Las Vegas
(775) 684-3562 – Reno