|FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE||June 30, 2011|
|NEWS FROM: Director's Office||11-012|
A law passed during the 2011 Legislative Session and effective July 1, 2011 replaces the current reinstatement fee paid by a motorist as a result of a liability insurance lapse with a tiered system of fees and fines based on the number of offenses and the length of the lapse.
Existing law requires the registered owner of a vehicle that is registered in Nevada to maintain continuous insurance liability coverage. Vehicles with a lapse of insurance coverage are subject to the suspension of the registration and a reinstatement fee of $250. Senate Bill 323, passed during the 2011 Legislative Session, replaces the reinstatement fee with a tiered system of fees and fines. Serious, repeat offenders will face fines of up to $1,750 and a driver license suspension. Motorists with a single, short lapse in coverage will be charged the same $250 reinstatement fee that has been in place many years.
Nevada law requires motorists to maintain continuous liability coverage on every registered vehicle. The DMV’s Nevada LIVE verification program checks the coverage on every vehicle several times per year. A lapse in coverage results in a suspension of the vehicle registration.
Motorists can check the status of their insurance and registration on the DMV website at www.dmvnv.com. Motorists and insurance agents can also enter updated policy information online. Both services are free.
NEVADA DMV UNINSURED MOTORIST PENALTIES
|Length of Lapse:||1-30 Days||31-90 Days||91-180 Days||181 Days or More|
|Driver License Suspension||Min. 30 days||Min. 30 days||Min. 30 days||Min. 30 days|
– 30 –
LINKSHistory | Bill Text