|FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE||December 20, 2013|
CARSON CITY – Out-of-state businesses operating with vehicles in Nevada will be required to obtain a nonresident business permit for those vehicles starting Jan. 1, according to Nevada DMV.
The new law comes as a result of the passage of AB 167 in the 2013 Legislature, creating nonresident business permits for out-of-state businesses operating with vehicles in Nevada. Permits will be required for vehicles under 10,000 lbs. in weight. The cost for the permits is $200 for the first vehicle and $150 for each additional vehicle.
To apply for the permits, applicants will have to provide current registration, proof of insurance and an emissions certificate from the issuing jurisdiction. All documents must be originals.
Violations of NRS 482.3961 are a misdemeanor with fines of no more than $500 for the first offense and $750 for a second offense. Applicants are required to visit a DMV office to apply.