The DMV is preparing to reopen and looks forward to serving you when a reopening date has been set. For now, offices remain closed.
Extension on Expired Documents
Any driver's license, vehicle registration or other DMV-issued document that expired on March 16, 2020, or later has been extended. If your expiration date falls between March 16 and the date of the DMV’s eventual reopening, you have until 90 days after reopening to renew. If your expiration date falls within 30 days after reopening, you have 60 days after reopening to renew.
Download and print the Extension Letter to present to law enforcement on demand.
Extension Letter (PDF)
The extension does not apply to vehicle liability insurance or SR-22 requirements.
The expiration date on your driver’s license or other document will not change. The 90-day extension is a grace period to allow for the continued use of expired documents during the State of Emergency.
Use Alternate Services if possible
Don't mail applications, titles or other documents! The DMV is unable to receive or process mail.
Don't contact the Nevada DOT, Department of Public Safety or other agencies with DMV-related questions. They are unable to assist you.
Frequently Asked Questions Top ↑
Extension and Renewals Top ↑
The expiration date on your driver’s license, vehicle registration or other DMV-issued document will remain the same and you will not receive any notification of the extension.
The extension is a grace period to allow for the continued use of expired documents during the Governor's Declared State of Emergency.
If your expiration date falls between the date the DMV closed, March 16, and the date of the DMV’s eventual reopening, you have until 90 days after the reopening of the DMV to renew. If your expiration date falls within 30 days after reopening, you have 60 days after reopening to renew. (Governor's Directive 016 Section 5)
The DMV will not assess late fees on documents renewed within these time frames. Please watch our website and your local news for information on our reopening.
Renew your vehicle registration online or at a kiosk if possible. You do not need a printed renewal notice. Emissions testing is available at many auto dealers and repair garages. See Registration and Insurance Status for your expiration date or check your certificate of registration.
Most licenses and IDs must be renewed in person. Please be patient and carry the extension letter with you. You should consider upgrading to a Real ID if you haven't already done so. This will help prevent repeat visits to the DMV. Visit GetRealNevada.com to see if a Real ID is right for you.
Due to the COVID-19 closure, the DMV did not mail renewal notices for some documents. Please check your license or registration certificate for the expiration date, or log on to MyDMV.
You do not need a printed notice to renew. It is your responsibility to renew within the 90-day extension period even if you did not receive a notice.
Appointments Top ↑
DMV field offices are closed. We are unable to honor existing appointments.
We are not currently accepting new appointments. The date for reopening DMV offices has not been determined.
The DMV will not be able to automatically reschedule any appointments.
Driver's License/ID Top ↑
Unfortunately, most driver's license, ID card, or Driver Authorization Card transactions must be completed in person at a DMV office. Originals and renewals are not available online or by mail.
Please download, print and carry the Extension Letter (PDF) if your license has an expiration date of March 16 or later.
These transactions must be done in person at a DMV office after we reopen. However, we encourage you to prepare for your DMV visit now.
The 90-day extension does not apply to licenses that were revoked, suspended or otherwise withdrawn prior to March 16.
The DMV is unable to process license reinstatements due to the COVID-19 closure. Your license will remain revoked or suspended until you can reach a DMV office to reinstate it.
You must maintain your SR-22 coverage until the date it is no longer required. If you are unsure of the date, you should continue the coverage until after the COVID closure.
CDL holders have various exemptions and waivers. See the following:
- CDL Exemptions/Extensions
- Commercial Learner Permit Waiver
- Exemption from Renewal of the Hazardous Materials Endorsement Security Threat
- Expanded Frequently Asked Questions (April 13, 2020)
If you have a critical issue not covered by the exemptions and waivers for a commercial driver license only, call (775) 684-4713. Calls on non-CDL issues will not be returned.
The TSA has extended the expiration date of Transportation Worker Identification Credentials (TWICs) that expired on or after March 1, 2020 by 180 days. See the Federal Register.
You can order a duplicate online through a MyDMV account.
The issue date on your current card is required to set up MyDMV. If you do not have this date, you will not be able to set up an account. Duplicate Driver Authorization Cards can not be ordered online.
Sign up for a MyDMV account. You can view basic license and vehicle information including status, expiration dates, insurance policies and much more.
If you need a certified copy, are out of the state, prefer to order by mail or if you need the original issue date of your first Nevada license, you will have to contact the DMV Records Section after the COVID-19 closure.
See Online Services for certain other records such as the status of your vehicle registration or business license verification.
The deadline for Real ID enforcement at airport checkpoints has been pushed back to October 1, 2021. The TSA will continue to accept standard state-issued driver's licenses and IDs. You should delay obtaining a Real ID until well after the DMV has reopened. There is no rush. See Real ID.
Vehicle Registration Top ↑
The DMV will not charge late fees on registrations that expired between March 16 and April 30. If the online or kiosk renewal is showing a late fee and the expiration falls within those dates, please wait until after the department reopens to renew your registration.
There are no partial registrations or extensions.
If your vehicle requires a smog check, you must renew by mail or fax after the COVID-19 closure. If not, you may renew online but the renewal is sent to the address on record. We cannot send it to a temporary address.
See Renewal Options for details. Please do not mail or fax a renewal until the DMV has reopened.
Keep your license plates!
You should cancel the registration before you cancel insurance. During the closure, you can cancel your registration only online through a MyDMV account. Do not mail your plates or a cancellation letter.
If you are unable to cancel the registration online, you can still cancel the insurance but you will receive notices asking you to verify coverage. Respond to the first letter online and mark "Vehicle Sold." You can safely ignore any further notices. You will not be assessed fines or a citation. However, fines will apply if you attempt to register the same vehicle in your name again.
You should also complete the Vehicle Resale Notification to help protect yourself if the vehicle is later abandoned. This does not cancel the registration.
The 90 day extension DOES NOT apply to vehicle liability insurance. You must have liability insurance on any vehicle driven on a public street.
You must cancel the registration before you cancel insurance. During the closure, you can cancel your registration only online through a MyDMV account. Do not mail your plates or a cancellation letter. You will be subject to fines if you cancel your insurance only.
After the closure, you will have to visit a DMV office to register your vehicle again. You will need a smog check if your vehicle requires one and the last test is more than 90 days old. You will receive a fee credit for the unused portion of the registration but will have to register the vehicle for a full year.
If you purchased the vehicle from a Nevada dealer, you can register it online. You can transfer existing plates or order new Home Means Nevada plates. You will receive the certificate of registration and decal in the mail. New plates may be subject to delay due to the closure.
If you can't register online, you must wait until after the COVID-19 closure.
You must have liability insurance on any vehicle driven on public streets. The COVID-19 extension does not apply to insurance.
The DMV Title Section is closed and unable to process any titles or research any information on them. Please do not mail titles or applications for duplicates.
If you purchased your vehicle from a dealer, you can contact the dealer on whether the title was submitted to the DMV. Dealers should not submit titles until after the closure.
All personalized plate processing is on hold during the COVID-19 closure. We are not taking new orders, manufacturing plates, mailing plates or delivering them to DMV field offices.
If your plates are already at a DMV office, you can pick them up after we reopen. They will not be returned to the factory.
IF you renew another vehicle on the internet or at a kiosk, the fee credit should automatically apply.
The fee credit will be extended for the period of the COVID closure. You will be able to use it once the DMV has reopened.
Please use the following online services to research and resolve the problem:
- Insurance and Registration Status Inquiry
- Insurance Policy Update
- Verification Response
- Registration Reinstatement (also available at kiosks)
If you unable to resolve the issue online, you will have to visit a DMV office once we reopen.