How to Apply Top ↑
Driver Authorization Cards are issued under the same procedures as standard licenses. All of the same rules, regulations and fees apply.
- Certification of Nevada Residency (DMV 005)
- Relief Agency or Shelter Certification (DMV 115)
- Property Owner Residency Affidavit (DMV 116)
- DAC and Vehicle Registration Requirements - English
- DAC and Vehicle Registration Requirements - Spanish
You must apply in person at a DMV office and bring the required documents. Make an appointment for our offices in Carson City, Henderson, Las Vegas or Reno.
The exact procedures depend on your age and current licensing status. Visit one of the following pages:
- Beginning drivers 18 years old and older - not currently licensed in the U.S.
- Teen Drivers - ages 16 and 17
- New Residents - currently licensed in another U.S. state
Residents of U.S. territories must take vision, knowledge and skills tests as outlined under Beginning or Teen Drivers. Cards are not issued to visitors or out-of-state students.
Testing Top ↑
All applicants take a vision test at the DMV. Applicants who are not currently licensed in the U.S. must take written and driving tests. The written test is given at the time you apply. We do not make appointments for written tests.
You may make an appointment for a driving test only after you have passed the written test. Set your appointment before you leave the DMV office. You may also schedule it online.
Private driving schools and instructors must be licensed by the DMV and meet minimum educational standards. See Schools for Training Drivers for licensed schools in your area.
Interpreters Top ↑
Knowledge (Written) Test
An applicant who has a lack of English or Spanish language skills may use an interpreter during a written examination for a driver’s license, driver authorization card or instruction permit.
Interpreters must attest that they are approved by a governmental agency, court, educational institution, or non-profit advocacy group by presenting a letter from the approving agency and completing an "Affidavit of Oath for Interpreters" form at the DMV office. Self-certification as a DMV translator does not qualify.
The applicant must bear any cost of the interpreter’s services. Interpreters may not provide services for family members.
Skills (Drive) Test
The Department does not allow interpreters to be present during any drive test.
Homeless Youth Fee Exemption Top ↑
The Department is authorized to waive the fee for homeless persons under 25 years of age to obtain an original, renewal or duplicate license, ID or DAC. This is a one-time exemption. You must apply in person at DMV office and complete the declaration form.
Frequently Asked Questions Top ↑
Driver Authorization Cards cost $22.25 plus an additional $25 testing fee if tests are required. Retests are $10 each.
Renewals cost $22.25. You must renew in person at a DMV office. DACs are valid for four years and expire on your birthday.
All applicants take a vision test. A written and drive test will be required if you have never been licensed in the U.S. Tests may be waived if you hold a current U.S. driver's license. See Testing.
There are only two differences between a DAC and a standard Nevada license. A DAC will state "Not Valid for ID" in the top portion. The blue banner will state "Driver Authorization Card" rather than "Driver License." The appearance is otherwise identical.
Check with the Highway Patrol or other law enforcement agency in each area where you will drive. The American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators has ruled that the DAC driving privilege should be valid in other states under national compacts and reciprocal agreements. However, each state or jurisdiction may set its own policies.
Yes. Nevada law requires residents of this state to surrender any out-of-state license or ID card in order to obtain a Nevada license or DAC. We will punch "VOID" on the card and return it to you to use until your new DAC arrives in the mail.
No. Commercial drivers must meet the proof of identity requirements for a Real ID or standard license and comply with federal commercial licensing laws. See Commercial Licensing.
If you have a license suspension or revocation in Nevada or any other U.S. state, you will not be able to obtain a DAC until the suspension or revocation is cleared.
Demerit points, suspensions, revocations and other driving information on your DAC will be reported to other states in the same manner as a standard license.
No. Nevada law specifically prohibits this:
The Director shall not release any information relating to legal presence or any other information relating to or describing immigration status, nationality or citizenship from a file or record relating to a request for or the issuance of a license, identification card or title or registration of a vehicle to any person or to any federal, state or local governmental entity for any purpose relating to the enforcement of immigration laws. (NRS 481.063 Section 10)
Private businesses have the right to accept or deny the DAC. The DMV will accept the DAC as identification for Nevada DMV forms where signatures must be witnessed.
Nevada law specifies DACS are not accepted as proof of identity for any state services:
A driver authorization card shall not be used to determine eligibility for any benefits, licenses or services issued or provided by this State or its political subdivisions. (NRS 483.291 Section 7)
DACs are also not accepted for federal purposes such as boarding aircraft or entering a federal building where identification is required.
Yes. This may be desirable if the person does not have the documents required for a driver's license but wishes to drive while obtaining them.
See Residency and Proof of Identity if you are a U.S. citizen or an immigrant with U.S. issued immigration documents.
Safe Driving Top ↑
- National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
- Zero Fatalities Nevada
- DMV Traffic Safety
Organ Donation Top ↑
Give the Gift of Life! One donor can save up to 8 lives and heal more than 50 people.
You have the option of becoming an Organ Donor and having this listed on your driver authorization card. You may become a donor or remove the designation when the card is first issued, upon renewal or upon a change of address.