Online Renewals Now Available!
Most Nevada drivers are now eligible for online renewal - even if you received a post card stating you must renew in person. Your new license will be mailed with your existing photo.
- Age 16-70
- 4 or 8 year, non-commercial driver's license
- Expiration date of March 12, 2020 or later
- Renew up to 90 days prior to expiration or 365 days after
- No late fees through January 31, 2021
Important - Cancel Your Appointment
After you've renewed, come back and cancel your office appointment if you have one. It's important so we can serve other Nevadans who must visit the DMV in person.
Find and Cancel Your Appointment
Who is not eligible?
Sorry but Instruction Permits, Driver Authorization Cards, CDLs and Limited-Term licenses do not qualify for online or mail renewal. You must have no more than three moving violations since your last renewal. See Internet Renewals below for the full list.
Motorists who can’t renew before their driver license expires should print the appropriate extension letter in case they need to present it to law enforcement. Your expiration date will not change.
Extension for Licenses/ID Cards through November 12
Extension for Senior Drivers 65 and Older
Make an appointment at our offices in Carson City, Henderson, Las Vegas and Reno if you are not eligible to renew online or by mail. If your license is expired, print the email confirmation and carry that with you. We have notified law enforcement of this issue.
Review the Real ID information below if you have not already upgraded to a Real ID. If your existing license has a gold star in the upper right corner, you already have a Real ID and will maintain it through your renewal.
It is your responsibility to renew your license on time whether or not you receive a renewal notice. Please keep your address current with us. See Address Changes.
See also Driver License Fees.
Most drivers age 16-70 who have a four or eight year (full term) license are eligible. You are eligible even if you have received a postcard stating that you must renew in person.
Online renewals are available through a MyDMV account. You can sign up for an account in advance.
Specifically, non-commercial, full-term licenses held by drivers ages 16 - 70 and full-term ID cards for all ages will be eligible for online renewal.
Instruction permits, drivers ages 71 and older, Commercial Drivers Licenses, Driver Authorization Cards, and Limited-Term licenses held by non-citizens, sex offenders and those with certain medical conditions do not qualify. You must renew in person if you have had more than three moving violations in the past four years.
Make an appointment at larger DMV offices. You may renew in person at any DMV office at any time.
A knowledge test is required if you have had more than three moving violations or any license suspension, revocation, cancellation or denial within the last 4 years. You may also be required to pass a driving skills test.
Be sure to bring any additional documentation required for a Real ID or other reasons such as immigration status, medical letter, etc.
Naturalized Citizens and Permanent Residents
Please bring your Certificate or Permanent Resident Card to help avoid a return trip to the DMV.
You must present a U.S. immigration document at each renewal or any change to personal information such as name and date of birth.
Drivers 65 and older may be eligible to renew by mail or fax. You must receive a full-page application with your renewal notice. If you receive a postcard, you must renew in person.
Most drivers under age 65 are not elgibile to renew by mail or fax.
If you are outside of Nevada and cannot reach a Nevada DMV office, you may download and complete an Application for Driving Privilege or ID Card By Mail.
This will be returned if you do not qualify for a mail renewal or if there is any unusual problem with your license.
See Driver License Fees for fee information.
Veteran Designation Top ↑
Veterans with an honorable discharge may have a designation placed on their license next to the license number. See the pictures below. Bring your evidence of honorable discharge to your next renewal or mail a copy with a mailed renewal. Visit archives.gov to obtain a copy of your DD-214 or other evidence of honorable discharge.
Real ID or Standard License Top ↑
If you already have a Real ID, no additional documentation is required to maintain it during a renewal.
If not, you must visit a DMV office one time to upgrade. See the documents list below or visit GetRealNevada.com.
A Real ID will be required for those who wish to use a driver's license or state ID to board aircraft beginning October 1, 2021. See DHS Real ID Information for details and other instances where a Real ID is required.
Watch our self-help videos! Click on the video icon and choose English or Spanish.
Real ID License
A Real ID compliant license is marked with gold circle containing a star.
To obtain a Real ID license, you must show proof of identity and residential address one time at the DMV. Most license holders submitted proof of identity in the past. You must show the documents again to obtain a Real ID.
A standard Nevada license is marked "NOT FOR FEDERAL OFFICIAL USE" and, in the future, will not be valid for boarding aircraft or other uses outlined in DHS Real ID Information.
You may use the internet or mail options if you are eligible to do so.
8-Year and 4-Year Licenses
Most motorists under 65 years of age will receive a license that is valid for eight years.
Licenses for those 65 and older and Driver Authorization Cards are valid for four years.
Motorists with instruction permits, certain medical conditions and registered sex offenders have annual renewals. Motorcycle instruction permits for those 18 and older are valid for six months.
If U.S. immigration documents are used as proof of identity, the expiration of your license will coincide with the departure date on your immigration documents. These licenses will be marked "LIMITED TERM".
If the departure date is eight years or more in the future, your license will be valid for eight years. Those 65 and older will be issued a four-year license if their departure date is four years or more in the future.
If the immigration document indicates “D/S” (Duration of Status) instead of an actual expiration date, the license will expire 1 year from the date of issuance. The fee charged will be that of a 4-year card.
Early Renewal Top ↑
You may renew your license at any time in person at a DMV office. You may visit any DMV office regardless of your city or county of residence.
This is highly recommended for those who are planning an extended trip outside of Nevada. Active-duty military members are encouraged to renew in person when visiting Nevada.
If your expiration date is less than 6 months away, the new year of expiration will be set four or eight years ahead. If the expiration date is 6 months to one year from the date of renewal, the year of expiration will be set seven years ahead.
The same 6-month rule applies if you are renewing more than a year ahead of expiration. For example, if the expiration is one year and five months from the date of renewal, the new year of expiration will be set three years or seven years ahead. If the expiration is one year and seven months away, the new year of expiration will be six years ahead.
Late Renewal Top ↑
A $10 late fee may apply if your license has been expired 30 days or more (waived through 1/31/21 for those with an expiration date of 3/12/20 or later).
If your license has been expired one year or more, you must take the written test. If your license has been expired for four years or more, you will also have to take the skills test.
Military/Federal - Nevada residents who are currently members of the Armed forces, their spouses, dependents or certain federal employees may be eligible to renew by mail up to 2 years after expiration. Please contact us for eligibility requirements.
If you did not receive a renewal notice, please call or email and include your current address for instructions.
Homeless Youth Fee Exemption Top ↑
The Department is authorized to waive the fee for homeless persons under 25 years of age to obtain an original, renewal or duplicate driver license or ID card. This is a one-time exemption. You must apply in person at DMV office and complete the declaration form.
Declaration of Homeless Status (DMV 128)