When to Test Top ↑
Emission inspections are required for many original vehicle registrations and for each annual renewal. Your mailed renewal notice will indicate whether a test is required. emission inspections stations in Nevada are privately owned and decentralized.
You must have insurance and either a valid registration or a movement permit to operate a vehicle on public streets. If your registration is expired, you may obtain a movement permit online through a MyDMV account or by presenting the Certificate of Registration or other proof of ownership at a DMV office. You may be charged late fees and/or cited by law enforcement if you operate a vehicle with an expired registration.
Don't take your 1996 or newer vehicle in for an emission test right away if you have just disconnected the battery for any reason. Your vehicle will not pass the test and will be “Rejected.” The vehicle will need to be driven under varying conditions for up to one week in order for the On Board Diagnostics system to run all of its tests.
Vehicles Requiring a Test
Passenger cars, trucks, RVs and motor homes need an emissions test if they are:
- Based in the urban areas of Clark or Washoe county;
- Gasoline powered (regardless of weight or size)
- Diesel powered with a manufacturer's gross vehicle weight rating up to and including 14,000 pounds; and
- 1968 model year or newer
- New vehicles on their third registration. First and second registrations are exempted. Hybrids are exempt for five model years.
Emissions tests are valid for 90 days. If the vehicle was purchased from a Nevada dealer, the test is valid for 180 days from the date of the test.
You must have a valid Nevada test to complete any original registration or most renewals if the vehicle requires a test as listed above. This includes reinstatement of a suspended registration.
Nevada requires used car dealers to issue a valid emissions test, when required, on any vehicle they sell. In private transactions, the test is the buyer's responsibility.
The following vehicles are exempt from emission testing:
- New motor vehicles on their first and second registration.
- New hybrid-electric vehicles for the first 5 model years.
- 1967 or older.
- Motorcycle or moped.
- Vehicles based in remote areas of Clark and Washoe counties and all other Nevada counties (see Testing Areas or call us).
- Alternative fuel vehicles.
- Diesel vehicles with a gross vehicle weight of 14,001 pounds or greater.
- Transfer of ownership/registration if the last test was conducted within 90 days before the transfer (180 days on a Nevada dealer sale).
- Transfer of ownership/registration between husband and wife.
- Transfer of ownership/registration between companies whose principal business is leasing vehicles if there is no change in the lessee or operator of the vehicle.
- Vehicles registered as a Classic Rod, Classic Vehicle or Old Timer and driven 5,000 miles or less per year.
- Vehicles registered as a Replica Vehicle.
- Fleet vehicles participating in the Continuous Monitoring program.
Test stations are privately owned and decentralized. The DMV sets the maximum testing fees each year. Stations are free to offer discounts, but they must post their charges along with an official DMV sign. Online Station Search/License Verification | Diesel Locations
Types of Tests
Nevada uses On-Board Diagnostics (OBDII) Testing for 1996 and newer vehicles. The operator will connect an analyzer to the OBD computer in your vehicle. Data from your vehicle will indicate whether its emissions systems are operating properly and within emissions limits.
Older vehicles are tested with a Two-Speed Idle Test. The operator will test your vehicle once at idle speed, then test it again with the engine running at approximately 2500 rpm. Older diesel vehicles are tested on a dynamometer.
The test results are transmitted to the DMV immediately and you will receive a Vehicle Inspection Report. You may renew your vehicle registration at participating stations, on the Internet, at a kiosk, by mail or in person at a DMV office. See Renewal Options. There is no need to mail the report. First-time Nevada registrations and license plates can be obtained only at full-service DMV offices.
Test Failures & Waivers Top ↑
If your vehicle has failed the initial emission test, you must repair it and pass a second test to be eligible for registration. If it still fails after repairs, you may be eligible for a waiver if you meet the requirements below.
If your registration is expired or about to expire, you may receive a temporary movement permit by presenting the failed emissions test at a DMV office. You may be charged late fees and/or cited by law enforcement if you operate a vehicle on public streets with an expired registration.
Repairs can be made by the owner or any facility the owner chooses. However, vehicles in Clark County must be repaired by a 2G Licensed Authorized Station to be eligible for a waiver. See our Online Business License Verification for a list of 2G stations in your area.
"No Pass-No Pay" options and similar promotions are not mandated by State law and are offered at the discretion of the individual station. Stations may charge for each test.
If the vehicle still fails after being repaired, it may be eligible for a waiver. Your vehicle must fail:
- Carbon monoxide and/or hydrocarbon levels exceeding standards for 1968-1995 light duty vehicles and all heavy duty vehicles, or;
- Illuminated “Check Engine” lamp for 1996 and newer light duty vehicles.
Waivers will not be issued to:
- Vehicles eligible for warranty coverage.
- Smoking Vehicles - The vehicle must be repaired with no limit on cost.
- Emission Device Tampering – The vehicle must be repaired with no limit on cost.
A waiver is only valid one year. The vehicle must be repaired prior to the next registration year.
Emission components could be covered under warranty for up to 8 yrs or 80,000 miles, whichever occurs first, under federal law. See EPA Emission Warranty Coverage.
The vehicle must be repaired by a 2G Licensed Authorized Station to be eligible for a waiver. The waiver application must include receipts from the station showing that at least $450 has been spent on parts other than a catalytic converter, fuel inlet restrictor or air injection system, or on labor other than emission testing if the repairs evidenced by the receipt were directly related to the deficiency in emissions.
If the vehicle is not repaired at an authorized 2G station, it will not be eligible for a waiver, regardless of the cost incurred. See Business License Verification for a list of stations.
Waiver repairs may be made by a 2G Licensed Authorized Station or the owner. Vehicles repaired at a non-2G garage are not eligible for a waiver. See Business License Verification for a list of stations.
If the vehicle is repaired at a station, an application for a waiver must include receipts from the station showing that at least $200 has been spent on parts other than a catalytic converter, fuel inlet restrictor or air injection system, or on labor other than emission testing if the repairs evidenced by the receipt were directly related to the deficiency in emissions.
If the vehicle is repaired by the owner, the application must include receipts or other evidence that at least $200 has been spent on parts other than a catalytic converter, fuel inlet restrictor or air injection system purchased within 14 days after the initial emission test.
If you still fail after repairs - If you failed the initial test, did the repairs pursuant to your county's requirements, met the financial limit to obtain a waiver and your vehicle still fails for hydrocarbons/carbon monoxide or a Check Engine light, bring your vehicle, both failed certificates, and receipts for all repair work to the Department of Motor Vehicles Emission Test Facility to request a waiver.
Waiver requirements for diesel vehicles are different. See the Diesel Emissions Requirements flier.
Smoking Vehicles Top ↑
A vehicle which emits visible smoke will not pass an emission inspection and does not qualify for any waiver. Law enforcement may issue citations for visible smoke.
The Nevada DMV also operates the Smog Spotter program to encourage the public to report smoking vehicles online or by telephone. Visit the Smog Spotter website or call one of the numbers below.
- (844) 363-7664 (844-END-SMOG) statewide
- (702) 642-7664 (642-SMOG) in Las Vegas
- (775) 686-7664 (686-SMOG) in Reno
The DMV will investigate reports on any vehicle with a Nevada registration, including heavy-duty diesel trucks and vehicles based in rural areas.
Classic Vehicle Exemption Top ↑
Vehicles registered with Classic Vehicle, Classic Rod or Old Timer license plates and driven 5,000 miles or less per year are exempt from emissions testing. Fact Sheet (PDF)
To renew the registration each year, you must complete the Odometer Certification for Emission Exemption (EC 18) to certify that you have driven the vehicle 5,000 miles or less. (NRS 445B.760 and NAC 445B.574)
Mail this with your annual renewal or you may renew in person. Your registration renewal notice will list "Smog Check Required" each year. You will not be able to use alternate renewals. You must renew in person or by mail. If you drive the vehicle more than 5,000 miles in one year, you must obtain an emission inspection if your vehicle and region require it.
If you have received a failing emissions test within the last 90 days, you will not be able to obtain the license plates for the emissions exemption.
To obtain the plates and exemption, the vehicle must meet the requirements listed on one of the following applications:
- Classic Vehicle License Plate Application (SP 34)
- Classic Rod License Plate Application (SP 20)
- Old Timer License Plate Application (SP 12)
See also Classic Vehicle License Plates. Download and complete the appropriate application.
You must also complete a Odometer Certification for Emission Exemption (EC 18).
There are several fees for the initial purchase:
- $36 Specialty Plate Fee and Prison Industry Fee
- $6 Pollution Control Fee for vehicles registered in Clark and Washoe counties
- $5 Substitute Plate Fee if the vehicle is currently registered in Nevada
- Each of the above is also subject to a $1 Technology Fee
Bring the completed application, the EC 18, any existing license plates and your Nevada Evidence of Insurance to a DMV office. If you wish to keep the old plates, you must bring the rear plate and surrender the decal in person.
We will issue your new plates with a new registration slip and decal. No registration renewal is required and your expiration date will remain the same.
You have the option of renewing your vehicle registration for a full year. Your expiration date will change if the current expiration date is more than 35 days away. Credit will be given for the unused portion of your current Nevada registration.
If your vehicle is not currently registered in Nevada, you must meet all other registration requirements.
Handbooks and Tools Top ↑
- Emissions Requirements Fliers: Gasoline | Light Duty Diesel
Information and Requirements for Emission Testing (EC 31)
- Nevada Engine Swap Fact Sheet (EC 54)
- Failure Notice to Motorists: Gasoline | Light Duty Diesel
- Approved Emission Testing Equipment: Gasoline | Diesel
- Emission Stations Vehicle Information Database (VID)
Access for licensed emissions stations only. No public information is available.
- Online VID Application (EC 27)
- Instructions for Completing the EC 27 Application (EC 26)
- Online VID Help Guide - 17 pages, 524kb
- Emission Station Official Sign Template | Specifications
- Emissions Renewal Station Logos: Color (jpg) | Grayscale (jpg) | Vector (pdf)
- Laws: Nevada Revised Statutes Chapter 445B | Nevada Administrative Code Chapter 445B
See Occupational and Business Licensing for business license applications.
1G Inspector Resources
Print these publications if you are taking the 1G Inspector class.
- 1G Inspectors Guidebook - 115 pages, 3.5 mb
- License Plate Matrix - 6 pages
- W Error Codes - 3 pages
- Diesel Inspector Workbook - 96 pages, 3.6 mb
- Applicants Guide and Training Checklist (EC 30)
- Emissions Inspector Licensing Application Packets: New Application (EC-07) | Renewal (EC-50)
- Approved Outside Training Providers
Contacts & News Top ↑
|DMV Emissions Lab
2621 E. Sahara Ave.
Las Vegas, NV 89104
|DMV Emissions Lab
305 Galletti Way
Reno, NV 89512
|Emissions calls only! For other DMV issues, see Contact Us.|
2018 I/M Program Activity Report - 66 pages
2017 I/M Program Activity Report - 69 pages
2016 I/M Program Activity Report - 60 pages
2015 I/M Program Activity Report - 55 pages
2014 I/M Program Activity Report - 44 pages
2013 I/M Program Activity Report - 44 pages
2012 I/M Program Activity Report - 47 pages
2011 I/M Program Activity Report - 46 pages
2010 I/M Program Activity Report - 46 pages
VID Program Wins National Award - September 30, 2010
Resources Top ↑
- Clark County Department of Air Quality Management
- Washoe County Air Quality Management Division
- Nevada Division of Environmental Protection
- Nevada Environmental Commission
- U.S. EPA Office of Transportation and Air Quality
- U.S. EPA Green Vehicle Guide
- National OBD Clearinghouse
- Worldwide Environmental Products, Inc.
Air Quality Monitoring
- Air Pollution General, 445B.100 - 445B.845
- NRS Air Pollution Index
- Nevada Administrative Code Chapter 445B
- All Motor Vehicle Laws
Engine emission controls
- Fees, 445B.830
- Inspection and testing, 482.461, 484D.560, 484D.570
- Prevention of emissions, 484D.415
- Use required under certain conditions, 484D.535, 484D.540