You must have a Driver's License or Driver Authorization Card (any class) to operate a moped on public streets.
Moped riders will be required to wear helmets as of October 1, 2019.
Moped owners must obtain a moped license plate and pay one-time registration fees to help combat moped theft in Nevada.
Moped Laws at a Glance
- Vehicle registration and a license plate are required in Nevada.
- Owners must register their vehicle one time only. The registration will remain valid as long as the owner retains the vehicle. Annual renewal is not required.
- You must hold a driver’s license (any class) to operate a moped on public streets. A Class M motorcycle license is not required.
- Helmet use is not required currently but will be required beginning 10/1/2019.
2019 Nevada Legislature Senate Bill 408, Sections 6-9
- Liability insurance is not required
- Riders must ride in the extreme right-hand lane of a multi-lane road unless preparing to make a left turn, it is unsafe to do so or if otherwise directed by a police officer.
- Moped dealers and rental companies must obtain a DMV business license. See Occupational and Business Licensing.
“Moped” means a motor-driven scooter, motor-driven cycle or similar vehicle that is propelled by a small engine which produces not more than 2 gross brake horsepower, has a displacement of not more than 50 cubic centimeters or produces not more than 1500 watts final output, and is capable of a maximum speed of not more than 30 miles per hour on a flat surface with not more than 1 percent grade in any direction when the motor is engaged. (NRS 482.069)
How to Register Your Moped Top ↑
- You must bring the vehicle to a DMV office for an inspection. This is completed at the VIN inspection station at larger DMV offices. In rural counties where there is no DMV, the Sheriff’s Office may complete the inspection. Use the Moped Registration Application/Inspection (VP 30) form.
- The inspection will determine whether the vehicle meets the definition of a moped and establish the Vehicle Identification Number. If the vehicle is determined to be a motorcycle, the owner will have to comply with all motorcycle laws.
- Moped registration must be done in-person at a DMV office. Make an appointment in Carson City, Las Vegas and Reno (arrive early to complete the inspection).
- If you purchased your vehicle from a dealer, be sure to bring all of the paperwork including the Dealer's Report of Sale.
- Registration fees for a typical moped will total approximately $60. This includes a $33 registration fee, one year of Governmental Services Taxes based on vehicle value, license plate fees and miscellaneous charges. Tax exemptions and fee credits can be applied.
- Mopeds are issued a distinctive license plate with the Sunset background. A handicapped version is available.
- The DMV will issue a title for a moped if the owner meets the requirements. If not, the DMV will issue a registration only. Bring your Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin, any existing title any sales contract or receipts. Titling is required if the vehicle is determined to be a motorcycle.
Make an appointment! DMV offices in Las Vegas, Reno and Carson City offer appointments. Plan to arrive about a half hour early to complete your vehicle inspection. See Dash Pass to book your appointment.
- A moped must be inspected to verify that it meets the definition of a moped.
- The owner must bring the moped to the DMV, if they live in a county that has a DMV office.
- Residents of Douglas, Esmeralda, Eureka, Lander, Lincoln and Storey counties may take the moped to either the Sheriff’s Office in that county or a DMV office in another county.
- The Moped Registration Application/Inspection form includes a section for VIN verification.
- The fee for a moped inspection/VIN inspection is $1.
- A new moped inspection will be required whenever ownership is transferred or a new registration is completed.
Safety Equipment Top ↑
Mopeds must have almost all of the same safety equipment (lights, mirrors, etc.) as a motorcycle in order to be driven on any public street. Mopeds are not required to have turn signals (NRS 484D.130). See the Motorcycle Equipment Tip Sheet.
Other vehicles with a small engine are considered off-highway motor vehicles and may not be operated on public streets.
This moped has the proper safety equipment and may be driven on public streets if it is designated for on-highway use.
This moped is not properly equipped. It is an off-highway vehicle and may not be driven on public streets. It may not be converted to on-highway use.
Ride to the Right
Moped operators have the same rights and responsibilities as other drivers. However, moped operators
have additional responsibilities based on the limitations of their vehicle. Moped operators must remain
in the extreme right-hand lane of any road unless:
- There is a single lane of traffic
- Preparing to make a left turn (turn must be made within one-quarter mile from entering lane)
- When driving in the extreme right-hand lane would not be safe; or
- As directed by a police officer