Department of Motor Vehicles and Public Safety
Public Information Office
Contact: Kimberly J. Evans
555 Wright Way
Carson City, Nevada 89711
(702) 687-1300 fax: (702) 687-6798

NEWS FROM: Public Safety 98-119

DMV & PS Director Appoints New Fire Marshal Chief

40-year Fire Service veteran assumes top post

Marvin Carr, Executive Director of the State Emergency Response Commission, was named today as Chief of the Fire Marshal Division by the Director of the Department of Motor Vehicles and Public Safety, Don Denison.

"I am very pleased to name Marvin Carr as Chief of the Fire Marshal Division," said Director Denison. "The insight and professionalism he offers after over 40 years in Fire Service will be a tremendous asset to the Division."

Mr. Carr began his Fire Service career in 1955 as a volunteer firefighter for Lyon County. In 1971, Carr became a Lyon County Fire Marshal with responsibility for blueprint plan checks for public buildings, fire investigation and fire and uniform building codes. In 1986, he was appointed Fire Chief for the newly formed Central Lyon County Fire District. In 1991, he served as Director of Lyon County's Emergency Management Division. In 1996, Mr. Carr was named Executive Director of the State Emergency Response Commission. He has also served as past president and life member of the Nevada State Fire Fighters Association, Nevada Fire Chiefs Association and Nevada Emergency Preparedness Association. In 1997, Mr. Carr was selected to the International "Who's Who" of Professionals Representing the Fire Service.

>Mr. Carr replaces Mr. Bryon Slobe, who has served as interim chief of the Division since January of 1997. Mr. Slobe was appointed interim chief when Chief Gene Williams retired from service. He will resume his duties as Assistant Chief.

The State Fire Marshal Division is responsible for the investigation of fire and hazardous materials incidents, training of fire service personnel and the inspection, licensing and permitting of businesses in the State of Nevada.