Department of Motor Vehicles and Public Safety
Public Information Office
Contact: Kimberly J. Evans
555 Wright Way
Carson City, Nevada 89711
(702) 687-1300 fax: (702) 687-6798

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE - November 19th, 1998
NEWS FROM: Nevada Law Enforcement Academy   98-146

Nevada Law Enforcement Academy Graduates
13 State and Rural Law Enforcement Agencies Represented

Thirty-six cadets representing law enforcement agencies from across Nevada will celebrate their successful completion of nearly three months of intense training with a graduation ceremony in Carson City this Friday.  The ceremony will be held on the second floor of the Ormsby House at 2:00 pm, November 20th.  The scheduled speaker is Lt. Governor Lonnie Hammargren.

During the 15 weeks of training, cadets live in dormitory-style barracks on the NLEA campus.  Cadets undergo physical conditioning, firearms training, and classroom and practical instruction in a vast array of areas, ranging from basic law and psychology to narcotics and domestic violence intervention.  Graduates of the academy are certified as Category I law enforcement officers and will go on to serve in police departments, sheriff's offices and other law enforcement agencies throughout the state.

The twenty-first class represents law enforcement agencies from the Nevada Highway Patrol, Fallon Police Department, Carson City Sheriff's Office, Douglas County Sheriff's Office, White Pine County Sheriff's Office, Gaming Control Board, Nevada Division of Investigation, Mineral County Sheriff's Office, Nevada Parole and Probation, Walker River Paiute Tribal Police, Fallon Tribal Police, Elko County Sheriff's Office and Wells Police Department.

The Nevada Law Enforcement Academy is part of the Peace Officers' Standards and Training Division of the Department of Motor Vehicles and Public Safety.  A complete list of graduates, their respective agencies and current residences is attached.

  Nevada Law Enforcement Academy Graduating Class - Category I Class XXI

Name  Agency  Current City of Residence
Kristopher Robert Alexander Fallon Police Dept. Fallon
Richard Wayne Batien Carson City SO Carson City
Robert H. Borchardt Nevada Highway Patrol   Las Vegas
Jennifer Ann Davies Nevada Division Of Investigation Reno
Mitchell A. Dosch Nevada Highway Patrol  Las Vegas
Ronald Dreher Nevada Highway Patrol   Wells
Michael D. Edgell Nevada Highway Patrol  Elko
Anthony Earl Elges Douglas County SO   Gardnerville
Mark D. Garrigan Nevada Highway Patrol Winnemucca
Henry R. Godecke   Nevada Highway Patrol Gardnerville
Jacob D. Harp White Pine County SO Las Vegas
Mark Hayes   Nevada Highway Patrol Las Vegas
Steven A. Heiman Gaming Control Board Reno
Charles Willford Howell Douglas County SO   Carson City
Brian L. Jones Nevada Highway Patrol Las Vegas
Eric Kemmer Nevada Highway Patrol  Primm
Natasha R. Koch Nevada Highway Patrol  Las Vegas
Christian P. LaPrairie Nevada Highway Patrol  Lovelock
Daniel R. Larason  Nevada Highway Patrol  Las Vegas
Donald J. LaSage Nevada Highway Patrol  Reno
Chris Lyle Lininger Mineral County SO Hawthorne
Wally M. Lopey Mineral County SO Hawthorne
Brian McIntosh Nevada Parole & Probation Elko
Joseph J. McKay Nevada Highway Patrol  Gardnerville
Matthew S. MacKinnon Nevada Highway Patrol  Las Vegas
James Clayton McMinn Walker River Paiute Tribal Police Schurz
Brian S. Merker Nevada Highway Patrol Las Vegas
Theodore Mondragon Nevada Highway Patrol Searchlight
Nicholas J. Nordyke Nevada Highway Patrol Tonopah
Jerry L. Pattison Nevada Highway Patrol Pahrump
James William Pokrandt Fallon Tribal Police Fallon
Jared James Prengel White Pine County SO Ely
Kabir Sakandar Nevada Highway Patrol Tonopah
Robert L. SongerJr. Elko County SO Elko                   
Peter Edward Turner Wells Police Dept.  Wells
Bradley Wine Nevada Highway Patrol  Las Vegas