Renewals are sent to the address on record. Be sure to look for a License Plate Reissue notification if your plates are eight years old or older.
Odometer Readings Required! We will use the reading from your smog check if you had a test completed. If not, have your current mileage ready. Motorcycles and mopeds are exempt. The Nevada DMV is required to collect mileage data to help legislators plan for future road construction. It's the law! More info
Vehicle registrations expire on the exact date listed, not at the end of the month. You will receive a renewal postcard in the mail approximately 30 days prior to renewal. You will receive only email notices if you have a MyDMV account and have chosen to go paperless.
You are responsible for timely registration renewal even if you do not receive a notice. Late fees based on the expiration date are assessed for late renewals. Nevada has no grace period.
You must register your vehicle for a full year. There are no partial registrations. Trailers may be registered for one year or three years. Moped registrations are valid until the vehicle is sold. There is no annual renewal.
If you have received a renewal notice for a vehicle you no longer own, please cancel the registration and surrender the plates as outlined in Plate Surrender.
If your license plates are more than eight years old, you may receive replacement license plates in the mail after you renew. Please ensure we have your correct address.
Plates and decals are mailed separately. Place your new decal on your new plates when you receive them. DO NOT put the decal on your old plates.
Renewal postcards, web services and kiosks will indicate whether you will be receiving plates.
|Renewal postcard without plate reissue|
|Renewal postcard with plate reissue|
See Plate Reissue for more information.
Smog checks are required each year in Nevada. You do not need a renewal notice to have a test completed. 1996 and newer vehicles are equipped with on board computers that continuously monitor performance:
You may renew a vehicle registration with either the access code from the renewal notice or the plate number and last 4 digits of the VIN.
Registrations may be renewed online up to 18 months after expiration. The system will automatically calculate any late fees.
Renewals and license plates are sent to the address on record. We do not accept address changes by email or send stickers to a temporary address.
Tax Exemptions - You may apply your county-issued tax exemption during an online renewal. Contact your County Assessor to apply for an exemption for the first time or if your voucher number is rejected.
Complete Streets - Residents of participating counties have the option to make a $2 donation to the Complete Streets Program in their county. More info
Three-year Trailer Renewal - Trailers may be registered for one year or three years. More info
Choose e-check! We accept electronic checks, Visa, MasterCard and Discover. Using e-check saves taxpayer dollars through reduced fees. Debit cards are processed as credit.
If you did not receive a notice, please review our Online Services FAQs.
Participating emission inspection stations can renew your vehicle registration at the same time you get your smog check. Your vehicle record is updated instantly. The decal and registration slip are mailed from Carson City. See Emissions Renewals for a station near you.
You may mail your renewal if you are temporarily outside of Nevada or if you are not able to use other alternatives. Enclose the renewal postcard, payment, emissions test if required and any other needed documents.
See Out-of-State Renewal if you are temporarily outside of Nevada and your vehicle requires an emissions test.
If you did not receive a renewal notice, please email your name, license plate number and current address for instructions. We may ask you to mail or fax one or more of the following forms:
Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles
Fax Number: (775) 684-4797
The DMV honors the postmark on mailed renewals. We will not assess late fees if the postmark is on or before the expiration date. You may pay by check or money order payable to "Department of Motor Vehicles." Please do not send cash.
|In-Person & Kiosks||
You may renew in person at any DMV office or County Assessor office which offers vehicle registration. This is suggested only if you have multiple DMV transactions or unusual problems such as a registration suspension.
Bring your Evidence of Insurance and driver license with you to verify your coverage.
Larger DMV offices and dozens of private locations feature self-service renewal kiosks that print and dispense the registration slip and decal. Kiosk renewals carry an additional $3 processing fee.
You can renew in less than 2 minutes if your registration:
Kiosks are available at DMV offices in Las Vegas, Reno, Carson City, Elko, Fallon, Mesquite, Pahrump and Winnemucca. They accept cash, checks and credit/debit cards for payment.
Kiosks accept tax exemptions issued by Nevada county assessors. Complete Streets donations are available and three-year trailer renewals are available at the kiosks at DMV offices.
Kiosks are also available in many supermarkets and other private locations. Services are identical to those in the DMV offices except most do not accept cash. See Kiosk Services and Locations.
Residents of participating counties have the option to make a $2 donation to the Complete Streets Program in their county. This program promotes the retrofitting of roads to benefit pedestrians, bicyclists, disabled persons, and motorists. The donation is voluntary, non-refundable, and is in addition to any other applicable registration fees. The option is available only on internet and kiosk renewals.
Recreational and utility trailers can be registered for either one year or three years at a time.
Visit Online Fee Estimates to compare one-year and three-year fees.
You cannot use the online renewal if your vehicle requires a smog check and you can't have it completed in Nevada. You should renew by mail. If you did not receive a renewal notice, please contact us with your license plate number and current address for fees and instructions.
If you are currently in an area where emissions testing is required, you must have a test completed. Submit the completed test with the other documents listed in Mail/Fax. You may mail or fax your renewal.
If you are currently in an area where emissions testing is not required, you may complete an Emission Control Exemption Application (EC-8) and mail this with the other documents listed above. You must mail the EC-8 and other documents. You must have the car tested upon your return to Nevada.
Violations of these rules are criminal offenses and you may also be subject to an administrative fine from the DMV.
You may wish to consider an Early Renewal to change your expiration date. A college student, for example, may renew in August before leaving Nevada for the year. Those who travel during the summer could renew in the spring. Early renewals must be done in person at a DMV office. Credit will be given for the unused portion of the current registration.
Nevada does not have a grace period on expired registrations. Your registration expires on the date listed, not at the end of the month. You can check its status with our Online Registration and Insurance Status Inquiry. See also Renewal Options.
If your registration is expired and your vehicle requires an emission inspection, you must obtain a movement permit to drive the vehicle legally.
You may obtain a ten-day movement permit online through MyDMV. The registration must be in your name, expired less than 18 months and have no suspension, cancellation or other unusual problem. The fee is $2.
Visit a DMV full service office if you don't meet the online requirements or if you need another type of permit. Provide proof of ownership, such as the old registration or the vehicle title.
The DMV is required by law to charge late fees that consist of taxes and penalties. You must pay the full renewal fees for the coming year and the pro-rated Registration Fee and Governmental Services Taxes for the period of time the vehicle was not registered.
Additional penalties include $6 per month on the Registration Fee. The Governmental Services Tax penalty is $6.00 or 10%, whichever is greater (including Supplemental Governmental Services Taxes in applicable counties). Contact us for an exact quote if needed.
You may renew online up to 18 months after expiration provided DMV has your correct address and you have no unusual problems such as an insurance lapse or unpaid parking tickets. The system will automatically calculate late fees.
If you did not drive your vehicle on public streets during the registration lapse, you may avoid the late fees if you renew through a MyDMV account or in person at a DMV office and complete an Affidavit of Non-Operation. Late fees cannot be waived or refunded if you renew at a kiosk or an emissions station.
Vehicle registrations enter "renewal status" approximately 35 days before expiration. If you renew during this period, the expiration date will remain the same and you will be charged fees for a full year.
If you wish to renew early or change your expiration date, you must visit a DMV office. The new expiration date will be set one year from the date of the renewal. You will receive credit for the unused portion of your current registration fees. You will need to complete a new emission inspection if required for your vehicle and if the last test was completed more than 90 days prior to the renewal.
If you wish to avoid personalized or specialty plate fees charged on your current plates, you should renew your registration in person and exchange plates at the same time. We do not issue credits or refunds for these fees.
Please renew your registration on time regardless of whether you change plates. You may renew first and change plates at a later date without obtaining a new registration or emission inspection.
If the new plates you wish to obtain are in stock at the DMV, you should renew the registration, surrender the old plates and obtain the new ones at the same time. Bring the old plates into the office with you.
If the new plates will be custom-ordered, you may order them in person at the same time you renew the registration. Or, you may renew using any method above and order the plates by mail. You would then exchange the plates in person when the new set is ready.
See our License Plates pages for different plate styles and for specific instructions on obtaining the plates of your choice.